Rebekah Shaman on Russel Brand’s Revolution

Hi All,

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted. I apologise, I have been caught up in a hurricane of work. I’ve finally got my feet back on the ground and my head is in the right place to do a post. This will be a re-post from Rebekah Shaman’s blog. Please visit her website: http://www.rebekahshaman.com for more amazing content.

I absolutely, 1,000,000% agree (and you will know this if you have read ANY other posts on this blog) with Rebekah about not dividing into ‘us against them.’ After all, an eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind. Let us concern ourselves with our growth and increasing our consciousness and we will evolve ourselves into the world we want to see, because if we try to fight our way there we will never arrive.

I am currently researching another post for tomorrow or Tuesday. Stay tuned!

Love,

A

______________________________________

I’m Not Buying Russell’s Brand of Revolution

A lot of people have been asking me this week what I thought of Russell Brand after his Newsnight interview went viral. When I originally saw it (admittedly while I was multi-tasking), I agreed with everything he said and found his words inspiring. However, now, after closer inspection, I don’t think it was quite what it seemed.

 

I actually found the whole interview quite insidious. I felt it was inflaming social tension with the same old ‘us’ and ‘them’ scenario, and then Russell Brand’s smug face claiming: “we are going to have a revolution, it’s going to happen. I don’t have a flicker of a doubt…this is the end!”

 

And after the revolution we will have “Admin Bods” controlling us from a central-like government in a socially egalitarian society! “

 

“Equilibrium” any one…????

 

What Russell is failing to recognise is that he is playing the same game he seems to be so apathetic about, making the same old mistakes… and we are ALL going to suffer the consequences if we feel we are divided between ‘us’ and ‘them’. Revolution is a bloody affair!

 

What we need right now is a R-Evolution. Where we Re-evaluate our Evolution and do it differently this time.

 

We need to stop playing the blame game and start taking personal responsibility for our own actions.

 

I was given that message by my teacher Don Juanito in 2002, after I had met James Wolfensohn, the World Bank President during the World Summit on Sustainable Development, in Johannesburg. I saw the corruption from the top of the Pyramid and it overwhelmed me. I came out of the meeting hopeless, utterly depressed and defeated but Don Juanito said to me, “Now you have seen what is happening, the very core of the belief system is corrupt and you can’t change a belief system that everyone agrees to, including yourself. All you can do is be the change and only by being the change can you affect change.”

 

While we continue to feed the present system as it is, we cannot change it. As Albert Einstein said “We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.”

 

So life is leading us towards two paths. …One of violent revolution – being incited by the BBC who pre-recorded this video on Newsnight and released it into the mainstream just before the big London demonstration on November 5th, a potentially explosive night by the very nature of its association, and potentially leading to more riots, aggression and death.

 

….or we choose to take the other path of conscious r-evolution, stop blaming and decide to take personal responsibility for what is happening. When we choose that our goal is not to gain political control, monetary wealth nor military power, but rather to promote and protect the welfare of all living beings and to preserve a healthy, flourishing world for future generations life we start seeing life from a much more positive, inspiring and hopeful perspective.

 

We are all in this together. Rather than take the ‘easier’ way out and sustain the present system, whose value system is based on financial profit/debt, consumption and continuous growth, that is creating this ecological, biological and social crisis, we start living consciously, consume less and make choices based on different values that support and preserve life.

 

In the end, each and every one of our individual choices is creating our collective future…

 

I’m choosing the path of conscious R-evolution…Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

